A Perfect Chemistry: Photographs by Hill and Adamson

Next showing 10:00, Mon 31 Jul 2017 at Scottish National Portrait Gallery

Exhibitions
Only four years after the invention of photography was announced to the world in 1839, two Scots had mastered the new medium and were producing works of breathtaking skill in extraordinary quantities. A Perfect Chemistry explores the uniquely productive and influential partnership of David Octavius Hill (1802-1870) and Robert Adamson (1821-1848), which lasted a few short years from 1843 until early 1848. These stunning images, which belie the almost unimaginable technical challenges faced by the duo, are arguably among the first examples of social documentary in the history of photography.

70cd7abd71a8b7cb78dd6f776051ce8651026ba6-square-150

Scottish National Portrait Gallery
  • 10:00, Mon 31 Jul 2017
  • 10:00, Tue 01 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Wed 02 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Thu 03 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Fri 04 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Sat 05 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Sun 06 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Mon 07 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Tue 08 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Wed 09 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Thu 10 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Fri 11 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Sat 12 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Sun 13 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Mon 14 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Tue 15 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Wed 16 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Thu 17 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Fri 18 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Sat 19 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Sun 20 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Mon 21 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Tue 22 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Wed 23 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Thu 24 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Fri 25 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Sat 26 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Sun 27 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Mon 28 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Tue 29 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Wed 30 Aug 2017
  • 10:00, Thu 31 Aug 2017